Divorce law Information

What are the different types of divorce?

Fault and no Fault divorce are two major types of divorce:


Fault Divorce

In some cases, one partner can be shown to be at fault in a divorce. This is most common when abuse is an issue. One spouse may also be found at fault if it can be shown that he or she is guilty of adultery or abandonment. In addition, a fault divorce may be given if one partner is unable to engage in sexual intercourse or if he or she is in prison. In some cases, the divorcing spouse may want to file a fault divorce, because he or she may be awarded a greater share of the couple’s assets. Fault divorces also tend to be processed more quickly as there is no separation period like the one required for a no fault divorce.

No-Fault Divorce

A no-fault divorce is much less complicated than a fault divorce. In a no fault divorce there is no need for evidence or proof of wrongdoing. Instead, any legally recognized reason for divorce is acceptable. Generally, “irreconcilable differences,” or the mere inability to get along, is con sidered a valid reason for no fault divorce. This means that the other spouse cannot prevent his or her partner from filing for divorce. By challenging the decision, he or she only lends merit to the fact that the couple does not see eye to eye.